Day 21 – Crunchy Kale, Apple, candied walnut and Snap pea crisp Salad

I raced out of my sisters apartment in Brooklyn with a heavy heart; leaving NY and my family is always depressing. So I guess it came as a cute little surprise when I opened my bag and found a bag of ‘Snap Pea Crisps’ tucked in there. This is something my mother always did when I was young, and embarking on any kind of journey; while I was putting on my shoes, she would be busy stuffing as many snacks into my hand carry bag as possible.

Anyway- I had never tried Snap pea crisps before; they turned out to be pretty delicious. After the first bite, I realized these little baked goods could potentially taste great in a salad I make very frequently. So as soon as I got home, I tried it out!

Here’s how it went :

Recipe

Salad :-

1 Bunch Fresh Kale

1 bunch Romaine lettuce

2  apples

candied walnuts

1 cup snap pea crisps

raspberry vinaigrette (bottled – will provide a home-made recipe later)

Recipe for Candied Walnuts

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 cup walnut halves

Vegetable oil (for frying)

1/2 teaspoon salt

 Directions for Candied Walnuts:

In a saucepan add water, sugar, and cayenne. Bring to boil over high heat, stirring until sugar dissolves Add walnuts to pan; reduce heat to medium and cook until syrup boils, is thick and coats all the walnuts – the cooking time is about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, pour vegetable oil into wok or large frying pan and allow to heat. Drain extra syrup from walnuts. Slowly and carefully transfer walnuts to hot oil and cook until well browned, stirring constantly. Finally, transfer all the walnuts to a cooling sheet, sprinkle with salt and leave to cool and crisp!

Directions for Salad:

Roughly chop Kale, Romaine lettuce and wash thoroughly.

Chop apple into thin long slices.

In a bowl, mix greens, apple and raspberry vinaigrette . throw candied walnuts and Snap Pea Crisps on top as a generous garnish.

*___________*

The Salad turned out great and the snap pea’s really did add a great salty crunch to the salad. Not only that, the crisps are healthy and have a delicious flavor.

This is a perfect lunch salad for anyone; it is extremely healthy and full of flavour. Anyone can enjoy it !

Try it out and let me know how it worked for you 🙂 @NoMeatNovember signing out..

Leave a Reply

