Day 15 – Quick & Easy Asian Lettuce Wraps!

Today has been a looong day with barely anytime to put together a decent meal! Luckily, I have lots of quick, easy and nutritious recipes up my sleeve that are perfect for a busy day!

Here is what I put together on my 20 minute break:

Recipe:

1 chopped white onion

half a cup chopped shiitake mushroom

half a cup shredded carrot

1 bunch broccoli (only the heads)

half cup bean sprouts

romaine lettuce leaves

1 ½ tablespoon light soy sauce

½ tablespoon hoisin sauce

½ teaspoon ginger

Directions:

Mix together light soy sauce, hoisin sauce & ginger.

In a wok throw in chopped white onion and shiitake mushrooms- let the onions sweat and the mushrooms soften. Next, add in the broccoli and shredded carrot. Let veggies cook for 2-3 minutes and then add in the soy mixture and coat the veggies. Finally , turn off the heat & throw in Fresh bean sprouts and mix again. Do not ‘cook’ the veggies or over heat; you want to maintain the crunch, flavour and most importantly, the nutrition in this meal!

Once the mixture has cooled down, Spoon it out into romaine lettuce leaves , wrap and serve!

(I usually have these wraps with chilli sauce)


*——–*

Try any of my recipes and let me know how they turn out for you. I’d love to hear your results along with your variations and versions- also if you have anything you’d like to share, please feel free to write me an email (nomeatnovember@gmail.com), comment on the blog, or contact me via twitter (@NoMeatNovember). Thank you for all those who have already sent supportive emails and messages- I promise to upload recipes catering to your requests over the next few days! I hope to keep hearing from you! Have a great NoMeatNovember!

Leave a Reply

