Day 11 – Vegan Felafel Balls

So, Yesterday turned out to be an insane day at work; by the time I got home from the office, I was so ridiculously tired- I ended up eating a bowl full off spinach and then proceeded to fall asleep on my couch :s I felt a little strange not blogging; but will make up for it with a recipe that I know everyone will love!

Today, I made up my mind to come home from work early for the sole purpose of cooking my favourite food! This afternoon, for the very first time, I made vegan Falafel balls. Having never made falafel before, I was a little worried about how they would turn out- so I had my aunt on the phone the entire time giving me step-by-step instructions on what to do. After a lot of yelling, laughing and a few inappropriate comments about me rolling the dough into ‘balls’ (hehe never too old to find that funny) my falafel was ready!

Heres how I did it :

Vegan falafel balls!

Recipe

1 pound dry garbanzo beans

1 red onion finely chopped

1 potato, peeled and quartered

½ tablespoon garlic paste

1/2 cup cilantro leaves, chopped

1 teaspoon ground coriander

1 teaspoon cumin powder

salt

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

2 teaspoons lemon juice

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 cups oil for deep frying (tastes best in Olive oil)

 

Directions:

Rinse the garbanzo beans under cold water.. fill large pot with water. Let soak 24 hours, and rinse again. (If you cannot used uncooked beans, you can always find the cooked/canned beans at your grocery store – they taste just as good and are super quick)

Place the beans, onion, and potato in food processor- alternatively , you can do this by hand- with a potatoe masher – it takes FOREVER, but is effective. Cover, and process until finely chopped. Add the garlic, cilantro, coriander, cumin, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper to the garbanzo bean mixture ; process on low to blend thoroughly.

Slowly add the lemon juice, and olive oil; process on low into a coarse meal. Cover, and refrigerate 2 hours. Once the mixture is cool and has stiffened a little, stir the baking soda in and mix thoroughly . Using damp hands, form the mixture into balls.

Pour the oil into a wok 1 to 2 inches deep, and heat over medium-high heat. Cook the falafel balls, turning so all sides are evenly browned, about 5 minutes. Remove falafel from oil, and drain on paper towels. And Serve  😀

 

 

(ps- I did not take this picture, I just didn’t charge my own camera and so haven’t uploaded my own picture, but will replace this one with my own by tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

